Standards for Matter & Interaction

Thanks to Frank Noschese over at Action-Reaction I didn’t have to start this list from scratch. He had a list of standards for the 2nd edition of Matter & Interaction by Chabay and Sherwood so all I needed to do was update it for the 3rd edition. I’m pretty excited about uses standards-based grading now that I have all my standards in hand. It seems much more manageable. For keeping track of it all I’ve decided to try ActiveGrade. I know some people use Excel, pen and paper, or Google Docs for keeping track of the standards but I wanted something the students could check on to see how they are doing and I wanted to involve the least amount of hassle on my part.

So here are the standards. There is also link to a Google Doc if you’d like to download these. Feel free to use them in your classes. All I ask in return is that you give back to the community and share, either by posting the changes you make or write about your experience somewhere online. I’m a big believer in open source and creative commons and all that so please give back to the online community.

Matter & Interaction Standards
(Based on 3rd edition of text)

Chapter 1: Interaction and Motion
1.1 – I can provide arguments for whether interactions are present for a given situation.
1.2 I can relate the fact that an object undergoes uniform motion to the fact that it must experience no net interaction in this case.
1.3 – I can articulate the difference between a vector and a scalar.
1.4 – I can find the magnitude of a vector.
1.5 – I can calculate the unit vector in the direction of a specified vector.
1.6 – I can use vector notation for appropriate quantities (such as momentum).
1.7 – I can calculate the average velocity of an object.
1.8 – I can add and subtract vectors graphically and algebraically.
1.9 – I can calculate the change in a vector quantity graphically and algebraically.
1.10 – I can use the position update formula to relate changes in the position of an object to its average velocity.
1.11 – I can use the position update formula to calculate the time taken for an object to move from an initial to a final location.
1.12 – I can draw arrows to represent the velocity (or momentum) of an object at a particular location along its trajectory.
1.13 – I can write the definition of momentum.
1.14 – I can articulate when it is appropriate to use a non-relativistic approximation.
1.15 – I can calculate the momentum of a particle at any speed.
1.16 – I can calculate the average rate of change of momentum.
VP1.1 – I can use VPython to animate an object moving with constant velocity.
VP1.2 – I can use VPython to draw a vector moving with an object.
VP1.3 – I can use VPython to leave a trail behind a moving object.

Chapter 2: The Momentum Principle
2.1 – I can clearly specify the system and the surroundings for every problem.
2.2 – I can apply the momentum principle to solve problems.
2.3 – I can calculate the net force experienced by an object.
2.4 – I can use the momentum update formula to relate changes in the momentum of an object/system to the net force.
2.5 – I can apply appropriate assumptions to use the position (or momentum) update formula.
2.6– I can predict motion iteratively when forces are changing.
2.7 – I can calculate the vector force due to a stretched spring.
2.8 – I can interpret/draw the position-time and velocity-time and force-time graphs for an object.
2.9 – I can list the forces exerted on a system and draw free body diagrams for the system.
2.10 – I can relate the momentum principle to the vector trajectory of an object subject to a constant force.
2.11 – I can estimate interaction times by making educated assumptions.
2.12 – I can explain what is meant by and defend the use of physical models.
2.13 – I can assess the appropriateness of approximations for a given physical model.
2.14 – I can use the momentum principle to relate the initial and final momentum of a system.
VP2.1 – I can write a VPython program that models an object moving under the influence of a constant force.

Chapter 3: The Fundamental Interactions
3.1 – I can list the four fundamental types of interactions.
3.2 – I can calculate the (vector) gravitational force exerted by one object on another.
3.3 – I can use a force law to update the momentum and position of an object.
3.4 – I can relate the momentum principle to the vector trajectory of an object subject to a spring force.
3.5 – I can relate the momentum principle to the vector trajectory of an object subject to a gravitational force.
3.6 – I can utilize the approximation for the gravitational force near the surface of the earth.
3.7 – I can calculate the (vector) electric force exerted by one charged object on another.
3.8 – I can compare the electric force to the gravitational force between the two charged particles.
3.9 – I can apply the property of “reciprocity” to forces between two particles.
3.10 – I can use the conservation of momentum to solve a problem involving momentum transfer between a system and its surroundings.
3.11 – I can find the center of mass velocity of a system
3.12 – I can apply the momentum principle to a system consisting of many particles.
3.13 – I can list the reasons our deterministic model has limitations.
VP3.1 – I can write a VPython program that numerically solve iterative problems and display trajectories for changing forces.

Chapter 4: Contact Interactions
4.1 – I can use the ball and spring model for solids to determine the diameter of an atom in a solid.
4.2 – I can use the ball and spring model for solids to determine the interatomic spring stiffness for a solid.
4.3 – I can apply Young’s Modulus in both macroscopic and microscopic forms to solve problems.
I can calculate the sliding or static friction exerted on an object.
4.4 – I know the difference between period, frequency, and angular frequency.
4.5 – I can relate the period/angular frequency of oscillation for horizontal/vertical springs to the spring constant and mass.
4.6 – I can graphically represent the motion of an oscillator given properties of its behavior.
4.7 – I can algebraically represent the motion of an oscillator given properties of its behavior.
4.8 – I can use the ball and spring model for solids to determine the speed of sound in a solid.
4.9 – I can use dimensional analysis to find approximate expressions for physical quantities.
4.10 – I am able to describe the microscopic origin of buoyant forces and fluid pressure.
4.11 – I can determine when buoyant forces can be neglected.

Chapter 5: Rate of Change of Momentum
5.1 – I can draw free body diagrams for a system, using our notation conventions.
5.2 – I can resolve vector forces into components.
5.3 – I can calculate the forces and tensions on a system in static equilibrium.
5.4 – I can distinguish between a system momentarily at rest and a system undergoing uniform motion.
5.5 – I understand how the parallel and perpendicular components of the net force affect an object’s motion.
5.6 – I can apply the derivative form of the momentum principle to curving motion with parallel and perpendicular components.
5.7 – I can draw a vector to represent an object’s rate of change of momentum.
5.8 – I can identify the directions and causes of forces as our body perceives them.
VP5.1 – I can write a VPython program that shows an object moving in an orbit and uses vectors to display the velocity, momentum, and/or force components perpendicular and parallel to the direction of motion.

Chapter 6: The Energy Principle
6.1 – I can calculate the energy of a particle at any speed.
6.2 – I can calculate the rest energy of a particle.
6.3 – I can calculate the kinetic energy of a particle at any speed.
6.4 – I can calculate the work done by a constant force.
6.5 – I can calculate the dot product of two vectors.
6.6 – I can apply the energy principle to solve problems.
6.7 – I can calculate energies in eV or in J.
6.8 – I can calculate the work done by a non-constant force.
6.9 – I know the properties of potential energy and the relationship between force and potential energy.
6.10 – I can calculate the potential energy of a system of two or more gravitationally interacting particles.
6.11 – I can calculate the potential energy of a system of two or more electrically interacting particles.
6.12 – I can draw/interpret graphs of potential, kinetic, and total energy as a function of position.
6.13 –I am able to determine the limits on the possible motion of a system based on energy-considerations.
6.14 – I can calculate the masses and binding energies involved in nuclear processes.
6.15– I can select appropriate initial and final states for multi-state problems.
VP6.1 – I can write a VPython program that shows the energies of a moving object.

Chapter 7: Internal Energy
7.1 – I can calculate the spring potential energy for ideal macroscopic springs.
7.2 – I can use springs to model interatomic interactions.
7.3 – I can articulate the meaning of and importance of the path independence of potential energy.
7.4 – I can calculate the change in thermal energy of an object/system.
7.5 – I can relate the air resistance force on an object to the speed of that object and the shape of that object.
7.6 – I can explain “terminal speed” in terms of forces acting on an object.

Chapter 8: Energy Quantization
8.1 – I can explain what a photon is and how it relates to the electromagnetic field.
8.2 – I can relate the wavelength to the energy of a photon.
8.3 – I can calculate the energy levels of a hydrogen atom.
8.4 – I can explain how an atomic or molecular system gets excited to a higher state or relaxes to a lower state.
8.5 – I can relate the energy of an emitted or absorbed photon and the energy levels of the hydrogen atom involved in the transition.
8.6 – I can explain what quantization means and we can observe the effects of quantization.
8.7 – I can calculate the vibrational energy levels of a system.
8.8 – I know the approximate energy level spacings of various systems.

Chapter 9: Multiparticle Systems
9.1 – I can determine the location of the center of mass of an object/system.
9.2 – I can correctly apply the energy principle to the point-particle system.
9.3 – I can correctly apply the energy principle to the real system.
9.4 – I can combine the energy equations for both the real system and point-particle system to solve problems.
9.5 – I can determine the translational kinetic energy of an object/system.
9.6 – I can determine kinetic energy relative to the center of mass of a system.
9.7 – I can calculate the rotational inertia of an object/system.
9.8 – I can calculate the rotational kinetic energy of an object/system.

Chapter 10: Collisions
10.1 – I know when the momentum of a system is conserved in a collision.
10.2 – I know when the kinetic energy and internal energy of a system is conserved in a collision.
10.3 – I can use the momentum principle to solve 1D collision problems.
10.4 – I can use the energy principle to solve 1D collision problems.
10.5 – I can use the center of mass frame to solve1D collision problems.
10.6 – I can use the momentum principle to solve 2D and 3D collision problems.
10.7 – I can use the energy principle to solve 2D and 3D collision problems.
10.8 – I can use the center of mass frame to solve 2D and 3D collision problems.
10.9 – I can describe the expected and actual results of the Rutherford experiment.
VP10.1 – I can create a VPython simulation of a collision experiment.

Chapter 11: Angular Momentum
11.1 – I can calculate the angular momentum of an object/system (translational, rotational, total).
11.2 – I can apply the relationship v=ωr when appropriate.
11.3 – I can calculate the cross product of two vectors.
11.4 – I can calculate the torque due a force with respect to a particular location.
11.5 – I can combine two or three different fundamental principles to solve complicated problems.
11.6 -I can identify whether the torque on a system is zero or non-zero.
11.7 – I can apply the angular momentum principle to isolated systems and systems with a net external torque.
11.8 – I can use the angular momentum principle to predict the location of a spinning object.
11.9 – I can discuss the consequences of angular momentum quantization of atomic-scale systems.

Chapter 12: Entropy: Limits on the Possible
12.1 – I can describe the Einstein model for a solid.
12.2 – I can use the Einstein model for a solid to distribute energy among objects.
12.3 – I can articulate the difference between a “microstate” and a “macrostate”.
12.4 – I can state the fundamental assumption of statistical mechanics.
12.5 – I can determine the number of ways to arrange q quanta of energy among N one-dimensional oscillators.
12.6 – I calculate the entropy of a system.
12.7 – I can explain, using statistical mechanics, why objects always end up in thermal equilibrium.
12.8 – I can recognize different statements of the second law of thermodynamics.
12.9 – I can compare reversible and irreversible processes (in terms of entropy).
12.10 – I can calculate the entropy change associated with a small amount of thermal transfer of energy.
12.11 – I can calculate the approximate temperature for a nanoparticle with a certain quanta of energy.
12.12 – I can calculate the specific heat capacity for an Einstein solid.
12.13 – I can calculate the probability of finding energy E in a system using the Boltzmann distribution.
12.14 – I can calculate the speed distribution of a gas.
12.15 – I can articulate the difference between average speed and RMS speed.
VP12.1 – Use VPython to model the distribution of quanta in a system of two blocks.

Chapter 13: Gases and Engines
13.1 – I know the difference between number density and density.
13.2 – I can calculate the average flow rate of a gas.
13.3 – I can find the mean free path of a particle in a gas.
13.4 – I can apply the ideal gas law to a system.
13.5 – I can calculate the work done by a piston on a gas.
13.6 – I can represent a thermodynamic process on a PV diagram.
13.7 – I can calculate energy transfers during a thermodynamic process.
13.8 – I can calculate the rate of energy transfer due to temperature differences.
13.9 – I can calculate the entropy change of a thermodynamic process.
13.10 – I can calculate the efficiency of an engine.

VPython – General
VP0.1 – I can write a correctly working program that has all the required features.
VP0.2 – I can output values that are labeled and have correct units.
VP0.3 – I can write a program with logical variable names, structure, and organization.
VP0.4 – I can use comments to describe the physical reasoning and the function of the code.

Here is the whole list in Google Doc format.

This entry was posted in Teaching Physics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Standards for Matter & Interaction

  1. Pingback: My First Half-Term with Standards-Based Grading (Learning-Objectives-Based Grading) | Talking Physics

Leave a Reply

